Eyes

30 03 2011

On Monday I tried to squeeze in a little moment to myself.  Well, with myself and Drew.  The all-important eyebrow waxing.  If you knew me before I started waxing my eyebrows, you’ll know that this monthly beauty pit-stop is pretty crucial.

Needless to say, the esthetician was running late, so as is always the case at Benefit, they asked if I wanted to “play with some makeup” before having my brows done.  “Why not?” I blithely responded.

And so ensued the onslaught.  Concealers.  Primers.  Foundations.

Here’s just a FEW….

And I just started laughing to myself thinking, “No matter how many products you use to sculpt, paste, patch and lift the darkness, wrinkles and bags under my eyes, you just aren’t gonna be successful.”

So, in honor of our lack of sleep these days, Drew sported his Small World Coffee “Sleep is for the Weak” onsie.

And sadly, this is how our coffee stash is looking lately…

 

And I “splurged” on these for 49 cents at Target….

for those days when my eyes are just too impossible to fix, even for Benefit Cosmetics.

 

I’ve been trying to stay focused on adding light to our household {see this post for the background}, so I decided to put my favorite IKEA tray out on the table with some spring love.  Lemons from our friends’ yards, bursting yellow daffodils, Alex’s little plant project (thanks, Elena!!) which just sprouted today, and my favorite devotional.

Here’s to hoping that these visual reminders will help keep me alert, focused and positive, even when the best-intentioned estheticians and cosmetics just don’t cut it.

 

 

Here’s a great reflection on sleep from John Piper….

Sleep is a daily reminder from God that we are not God. “He who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep” (Psalm 121:4). But Israel will. For we are not God. Once a day God sends us to bed like patients with a sickness. The sickness is a chronic tendency to think we are in control and that our work is indispensable. To cure us of this disease God turns us into helpless sacks of sand once a day. How humiliating to the self-made corporate executive that he has to give up all control and become as limp as a suckling infant every day.

 

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

3 04 2011
susannah eloyse prinz

a. i love makeup counters.
b. i’ve a;ways wondered if the benefit counter is any good for waxing, etc
c. sleep. oh sleep.

19 04 2012
Hello, Flawless « These Stones

[...] Cosmetics for over five years.  I wrote about a hilarious encounter there last March, found here.  You’ve gotta love a company that creates make-up with names to lure you [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,184 other followers

