Eat Well

7 02 2012

 

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well,

if one has not dined well.”  

- Virginia Woolf

Oh, yes, Miss Woolf.  So true.  Sotrue.  Dining well.

We have been so so spoiled.  Matt and I have had the treat of dining out at some wonderful venues.  The gift of taking your time, savoring the meal, enjoying the flavors, letting the food become a memory, that is something that I put at the top of my priority list. These days, it is TOUGH to make that happen during day-to-day life.  For many of you who have eaten with us, you know that we are not the poster family for patient, perfect toddler/preschool diners.  Nope.  We are usually trying to squeeze in a “Thank You to God” prayer, some conversation about our days and keeping everyone in their seats (Drew is currently a master of escaping the locked bounds of his high chair).

But I’m am realizing more and more that eating is a means to living well.  The process of planning, preparing and consuming food is part of our daily survival and it can be a challenge to many (me included).  For over a year we have had a weekly menu plan and shopping trip to allow for less waste and easier preparation (in theory).  But over the last 4 weeks we have also jumped into a new eating plan called Eat to Live.  The first six weeks involves a vegan diet while eliminating carbs/gluten and sugar.  It has been intense.  But, an amazing process.  Many have asked “WHY???” (for the love of GOD!) we are doing something so crazy.  For us, we do hope to lose weight (and we both have), but even more so, to get healthier, feel better and more energized, more clear-headed and less “foggy”.

One of the motivators for us has also been some documentaries too.  Fat, Sick and Nearly DeadForks Over KnivesFood, Inc.  Fast Food Nation.  All are WELL worth watching.  Hard to watch, but so good.

I am slowly but surely collecting recipes that work for us.  And now, after a month, we are getting creative with what we can make without using the program’s prescribed recipes. A favorite for us prior to the last month has been smoothies.  I have shared about them before (here and here).  But a few folks were requesting any suggestions and ideas for doing smoothies and so I thought I’d post a few recipes in case you’re interested.

Smoothie Recipes We Enjoy:

Creamy Fruit and Berry Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 cup pomegranate juice
1/2 cup vanilla soy or almond milk
1/2 cup frozen strawberries
1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1/2 cup frozen peaches
1 banana
2 tablespoons ground flax seeds

Blend all ingredients together in a high powered blender. Serves 2.

Eat Your Greens Fruit Smoothie

Ingredients:
5 ounces organic baby spinach
1 medium banana
1 cup frozen or fresh blueberries
1/2 cup soy milk
1/2 cup pomegranate juice or other unsweetened fruit juice
1 tablespoon ground flax seeds

Instructions: Blend all ingredients together in a high powered blender until smooth and creamy. Serves 2.

Other Resources:

Veggies for the Picky Eater post from Kristen at Rage Against the Minivan

Six Tips for Making Sensational Green Smoothies post from Simple Mom (written by Lisa Byrne from Well Grounded Life)

10 Recipe Ideas for Smoothies from Real Simple Magazine

Tips for making a Smoothie Kid from Sara at Happy Foody.  And a video of Sara making a green smoothie (my favorite….tropical!!!  To make a tropical smoothie, I usually start with a can of coconut milk, a cup of frozen pineapple, a cup of frozen mango, 6 oz of spinach, some water–or a splurge of some juice, and 2 bananas.  Serves 2.)

I also posted about green smoothies and included a recipe last April.  Find that post here.

This process is LONG from over.  Today, in fact, my MOPS group had a wonderful speaker, Kandice Stillman, from Whole Child Wellness.  It was an amazing hour of great information and suggestions for how to implement this all with KIDS.  So, share your tips, resources and suggestions in the comment section PUUHHHHLEAZE.  We need all the tips and help and tricks we can get!

Actions

Information

6 responses

7 02 2012
Kim Rodgers

How weird! You’re describing our lives over the last two years. We read Eat to Live and started our journey to less meat eating back then and just last month we watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. Now we have a Breville juicer sitting on our counter to go with our Vita Mix. Both are great helps for getting in more fruits and veggies. Glad you’re on the journey as well. A tip a friend told me who has been doing Eat to Live for a while now…make things simple!!! Roast veggies for the week. They’re delicious warm and cold…in salads or on cous cous, or all by themselves! Lentils are fast and easy to cook. Add some to sauteed onions and garlic, throw in some frozen veggies and spices and let it cook. Easy and delicious! Salsa is a life saver. I use it as a salad dressing all the time. Looking forward to seeing some more recipes! I’ll have to try some of these smoothies.

7 02 2012
thesestones

I wondered if that was the book you read, Kim, because the smoothie recipe you gave me (that is taped to my cabinet door!!) is exactly the same as the one in the book!!! Love these tips. And yes, just tonight we made Mark Bittman’s white bean burgers and added salsa to the top. I also love fig balsamic vinegar on salad too. I love the Lentil Stew recipe and we do the Pita Pizzas every Friday since Pizza Night on Fridays was our little family tradition. Keep sending me more and more ideas. LOVE IT.

8 02 2012
Kim Rodgers

It’s not great, but good in a pinch. Frozen spinach warmed up and mixed with a can of black beans and salsa. Kids can wrap it in a tortilla. Easy and fast…

9 02 2012
tonie quigley

I am so proud of you and Matt~ what you are doing is not easy~ but well worth it…..I myself went almost totally Vegan over the last year, with the exception of eggs~ but only my own girls eggs. I have lost about 18lbs, and feel wonderful~ I started the process while training for my first 50k, and at first didn’t think I could do it…..fueling properly for long runs and all, but I have a great vegan friend who gently walked me thru it helping me figure it out~ now there is no looking back~

Keep up the good work, you will be much happy and healthier for it~

Bravo~

9 02 2012
Joy Moon-He Kim McKeon

I am loving the McMenamin’s cup – I got married at a McMenamins in Portland! You keep on going girl – you are doing something good!

9 02 2012
thesestones

No way, JOY! I LOVE that spot. Trying to decide if we’ll try it again this year….with two kids….in the car….for a LONG time…..we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,207 other followers

