New Routines

10 02 2012

Some nights, I crawl into bed, looking forward to a few blissful minutes with my current book (right now it’s 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker).  Usually I fall asleep within a page or two–or a screen or two as I’m now reading books on my ipad…I feel so 2012!).

But I also spend moments thinking through my list, almost a checklist similar to ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas.  I make sure that the lunch bags are all packed and snugly tucked into the fridge.  The waterbottles are filled.  The coffee beans are in the grinder.  The plastic cups and straws are lined up, single file next to the blender awaiting spinach, frozen blueberries, bananas, soy milk and pomegranate juice in the morning.  The bottles are filled with milk.  Alex’s sharing is in a bag by the door.  Drew’s diaper bag is packed.  My school bag is prepared and set by the door.  My clothes are set out in the hall so I can dress in the dark and not wake up the sleeping family….which is rarely still sleeping after 6am, sigh.

All this to allow for as smooth a morning as possible.  And frankly, it’s never smooth.  My mornings and my Thursdays/Fridays involve people.  Lots and lots of people.  Many of the 9 and 10 year old variety.  And folks, they just aren’t predictable.

In spite of unpredictability, though, a plan is key for me.  A plan is only that, a PLAN.  With a dose of humor and a ton of flexibility, there is a happy medium to be found.

And frankly, in the midst of it all…the challenges, the voice-raising, the botched lesson plans, the broken pencils and evaporated erasers—there is a blessed routine.  There is even blessing in the asphalt.

There is blessing in the powerlines  which cut across the morning sunrise-filled sky.

There is blessing in the broken pencils.  In the spilled smoothies.  In the never-finished (or started!) coffee.  In the blasted PUMP UP KICKS music on KFOG.

Hope you are off to a wonderful Friday and the weekend ahead…..full of blessings, even of the unexpected variety.

Actions

Information

One response

10 02 2012
Carol Heath

Sounds like you have read One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. Especially when you can find a blessing in the Pumped Up Kicks (okay, so I admit, I like that song. Such a catchy tune.) May you find more blessings in your day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,207 other followers

