Memory Is An Extraordinary Thing

26 04 2012

Almost a year and a half ago I started writing in this space, trying to find an outlet for processing the world I was inhabiting.  I shared here about why I chose the name These Stones for this place.  And as this week perfectly exemplifies, sometimes I use this blog as a space to share recipes.  Other times, daily antics of my children are the focus.  Some days I process my faith journey, my questions and thoughts about following God.

For me, though, I so easily forget.  And I want so desperately NOT to.  To remember.  As the quote shares so eloquently, much more clearly than I ever could, “God instructed His people on their journey to erect physical markers ‘along the way as aids to their memory.  The idea was that they were to remember His gracious provision and protection for them in the past, so that they might be encouraged to trust Him in the present.”  

So today, I’m sharing two incidents that happened yesterday.  I managed to see them and capture them on my camera.  I was actually looking for a way to “erect a physical marker”…an opportunity to keep these two moments as something more than a fleeting happening.

My children push my buttons REGULARLY, as I’m sure my neighbors can attest to.  I can’t even imagine what they think of our household as they hear my RAISED, TEACHER VOICE or Drew’s sobbing or Alex’s temper tantrums raging.  That aside, today, two little miracles happened.

First, Drew’s.  Matt’s Dad does some printwork.  (aka MODELING).  I like to give him a hard time about it.  Here’s one of the latest ads he was in.  Go, Lipitor!

When I was taking some photographs for him, “head shots”!, he brought his last page of pictures so I’d have an idea of what he needed.  Alex, my eldest, quickly snatched it up after our photoshoot for his own special papers collection.  Well today, Drew came across it.  Drew is only 18 months and can’t talk, per se, but it was CLEAR he knew who those photos were showcasing—-MACHO POP!  Check out this sequence and sorry, in advance, for the blur.

Did you catch that?  Those adoring looks of love for Grandpa?  The kissing of the photographs?  I mean, geez, Louise!, you seriously can’t script that.  And I will shout it from the rooftops again and again, WE ARE SO LUCKY TO HAVE FIVE PHENOMENAL GRANDPARENTS IN OUR KIDS’ LIVES.  SO  SO SO SO LUCKY.  I am so glad Drew “gets it” too.

And the next moment today, number two on “Memory List”?  This one’s Alex’s.  My dear friend, Julie, did something Pinterest worthy and amazing a month ago.  Alex’s preschool class was having a St. Patrick’s Day party and she made a rainbow fruit plate/concoction of amazingness.  I didn’t see it as I was teaching that day and not at drop off or pick up, but Alex has been going on and on about it for the last 4 weeks.  He took matters into his own hands and declared that we needed to recreate Julie’s rainbow platter for dinner.

Trying to curtail and contain Alex’s never-ending STORM of ideas is a full time job for me.  Last night, some dam broke and I just gave in and let him go for it.  It seemed the lesser of two evils.  I mean, how destructive can an almost five year old be with FRUIT and VEGETABLES!?!?  He was also quite convincing in that it was a perfect vegan-friendly meal for Matt and me too.  How thoughtful….especially with those dirt and sand covered hands we forgot to wash until we were 80% of the way into the project.  Yum.

Here’s what he came up with.  And you’ll see Drew’s delight over it all.  The blue food coloring in the cream cheese on the bagels….???? Weak, I know.  And a HUGE mess.  Oh, well.  You win some.  You lose some.

Of course the rainbow-filled sky would not be complete without helicopters, airplanes and birds….thus, markers were fetched and additions were made.

These two moments weren’t life-changing by any means.  But they both were, for me, reminders of the gift these two boys are.  Markers I can look back to, to remember when I’m pulling my hair out.  Lines drawn in the sand to say, “Don’t forget when….”  I could chalk it up to fruit, vegetables and a piece of paper with some photographs, but today, I’m clinging to these things, seeing them as the reminders they are of God’s extreme goodness in my life.  The ways in which God seeks to love me and show me himself in the world that surrounds me.

“What do these stones mean?

He did this so that all the people

of the earth might know that the

hand of the Lord is powerful and

so that you might always fear the Lord your God.”

Joshua 4:22b,24

Postscript:  Today, Micha Boyett Hohorst at mama::monk writes about Dishes and Litany and all that Beauty.  Go there and read her post.  SO eloquent and hits on the same notes I was talking about today.  And secondly, thank you so much for your generosity, love, support and encouragement after my words here yesterday.  So much love.  Thank you. 


Actions

Information

5 responses

26 04 2012
Carol Heath

So so so impressed at your willingness to let you boy be creative! Creative is messy! But oh so good for the soul. I love his rainbow platter!! Are the marshmallows vegan??

26 04 2012
thesestones

Carol….if ONLY they were vegan and sugar free! I had something else. The blue food coloring/cream cheese was pretty nasty!

26 04 2012
Elaine Mansfield

That is just awesome! Made me want to run over there and hug you all!

26 04 2012
Beth Streeter

Christine – I LOVE this post and the photos of your precious sons speak volumes. The grampa kiss and the rainbow are precious but the expressions on your sons’ faces are priceless. You’re a fabulous photographer and writer and I say, “Keep doing your thing, girl”.

I need to bookmark this blog….

26 04 2012
thesestones

Beth….so fun to see you commenting here! WOW! Much love to YOU guys. Been praying for T.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,238 other followers

