Gratitude

Last Friday marked the year anniversary of Alex’s eye surgery. We started noticing some *lazy eye* symptoms occurring around his first birthday. After an appointment with a pediatric ophthalmologist at Kaiser, our suspicions were confirmed. Alex suffered from a condition called strabismus. With the diagnosis began a journey of many appointments, questions, patching therapy, and tests. This process was truly made sweet due to our phenomenal doctor, Mark Jacobson. Hard to put what he does into words….it’s like the most perfect musical or symphony. Watching what he was able to accomplish with our **animated** boy always amazed me.

 

After many appointments and hours of patching, the time came for Alex to undergo surgery. I’m not the scientific, technical, medical type, so I won’t go into details about the procedure. Frankly, when I took the risk of looking at images of the surgery online I almost tossed my cookies. So for the sake of you queasy types out there, I will refrain from sharing. From the perspective of a mom, though, I will say, the whole thing freaked me out. Rather than reliving the whole thing, I just wanted to focus on the fact that I am so grateful.

 

Grateful for Dr. Jacobson


Grateful that Alex came through the surgery so well

and continues to have maintained the correction successfully


Grateful for a husband who could be so strong during this stressful situation

and for family and friends who rallied around us


Parenting is such a trip and I guess if we knew what it would really entail ahead of time we might shy away from the adventure.  Oddly enough, though, I think this crazy ride through strabismus land has been a gift.  My friend Susannah writes very eloquently about her experience having a second child and waiting for the results of her daughter’s hearing test in the hospital.  This “routine” test was much more loaded for them because their first daughter is deaf.  Read more about Susannah’s reflections here.  I share this because there still is a part of me that looks at Drew’s eyes on a regular basis, while holding my breath, wondering if he’ll suffer from strabismus as well.  Time will tell, but I try to cling to the gifts and growth that have come through Alex’s situation and am trying to choose gratitude rather than fear.

Leave a Reply

