3 Months

Andrew….

Drew…

Drewske…

Drewmeister…

Drewdrew…

Drujubee…(just like the candy!)


Bubbee…

Buggy…

We have WAY too many nicknames for you already, Drew.  But tonight, on the eve of you hitting the big 3 month mark, I have a few thoughts.  I sat on the bed tonight watching you for a long, long time.  I watched you sleeping, wondering if just looking at you would help me know you better.  Personality osmosis or something.   Last week, your dad and I went out to celebrate our seventh anniversary.  We spent some time thinking about 2011 and what we hope for, especially  for you & Alex.  Here’s some of the questions we were discussing:

1. What are ways you’d like each of your children to grow physically, emotionally, relationally, spiritually, & educationally?
2. How will your children be educated this year? What are some resources you’d like to explore to help your children develop intellectually and academically?
3. What are your children’s strengths? How will you help them use these well?
4. What are your children’s weaknesses? How will you help them overcome these?


It was so weird how both of us had tons of answers to these questions for Alex, but were drawing a *blank* in regards to you.  I mean, we hope you’ll begin walking this year… {on second thought….we might want to put that off as long as possible};  but, strengths and weaknesses?  I mean geez, Drew.  Get with it.  Diapers??  At your age?

It just made me realize how much more of you there is to know.  Your dad and I thought that Alex was really mellow for the first 10 months of his life.  A jokester, but mellow.   You probably realize by now how wrong we were.  So, I’m a bit hesitant to give an answer to people when they ask us what YOU are like.

I find myself watching and observing and gazing at you so often.  {*GAZING*} sounds so cheesie and silly.  But I’m still trying to do just that.  Look at you.   Soak you in.  Love on your adorable, chubby, STRONG thighs.  I love watching your mouth curl up in a smile (although these days, you’re jamming your entire fist in there, blocking my view….I’m going to wait to warn you about what THAT means….teeth are a-comin‘!).

By the time you’re able to read this, you’ll know better than you’ll ever WANT to know, that your mom really likes taking pictures.  If you’re normal, you’ll be like Alex, eventually yelling, “STOP!  NO MORE PICTURES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Somehow I just can’t resist. It’s my attempt to stop these moments and slow things down.  Three months isn’t that long in *the scheme of things*, whatever that means, but I already see how different you are and get sappy to see these tiny baby days floating away so quickly.

On one hand, I want you to be in  your teens.   I want to know what makes you tick.  Your opinions.  Your likes/dislikes.  Your favorite music.  Your typical rhythm and personality.  What books make your heart full.  What foods are comforting and *home* to you  (please, please, please don’t say “PROCESSED FOODS”….I really will cry).

But on the other hand, I stop, slow down and try to savor these moments with you.  Moments filled with wonder about who you are, but also deep trust that watching that unfold will be one of the biggest gifts of all.

I love you so much, bug-a-boo.   Can’t wait for tons of adventures and memories to come!

Mom

Leave a Reply

