January Reflections: Food

Food: Describe the best meal you had in 2010. What role does food play in your house? Share a recipe.


This prompt could keep me going for post after post after post.  Last year, I even did an “Alex in the Kitchen” calendar for the grandparents for Christmas.  I love food.  I love cooking.  I put up with the mess and insanity love getting Alex in the kitchen.

So, food plays a big role in our house.  Food equates to hospitality and creativity in my opinion.  It can become the foundation for welcoming people in and taking care of their most basic needs.  Food and cooking can be messy and can go very very wrong, but I am still convinced it’s worth the effort and insanity.

I think food should be fun.  I grew up in a household with a high school Home Ec teacher for a mom.  Food was always central for us, but it was much more calculated, measured and specific.  I began to realize the difference between my approach and my mom’s.  Even though I’m incredibly type A, I began to find that being a little less calculated, and cooking to taste and creativity can be really freeing.  My mom’s job was to teach high schoolers (she even had a class filled with only 12th grade boys!  Holy, holy Moses.).  The whole point was to give her students a recipe and have them create a product with as much precision as possible.  Baking is much more about chemistry.  I began to realize that cooking can have a whole different approach.  I’m trying to instill in Alex, and hopefully in Drew eventually, that food can and should be exciting.

Case in point….today’s breakfast.  It’s not a complicated recipe whatsoever.  Just an attempt to make eating and breakfast fun.  Alex is obsessed with purple and so I decided to use our neon food coloring to *spice* things up a bit.  I mixed up some Trader Joes Buttermilk Pancake Mix {(from SCRATCH, folks!!)} and then put in the food coloring.  Pretty intense cooking here in the Gough household.

Next, I dished it up and called in the *troops* to eat and enjoy.

So, enjoy some HOMEMADE breakfast.  Add a bit of whimsy….and be sure you make it into the clean plate club!

Recipe for Rainbow Pancakes:

1 3/4 cup pancake mix

1 cup water

1 egg

Neon food coloring

Combine the pancake mix, water and egg.  Add LOTS of food coloring.  Pour onto a hot skillet.  Cook.  Dish up.  Eat and enjoy!

This post is part of the January Reflections 2011 writing project.

2 thoughts on “January Reflections: Food

    1. I love your blog too, Kathryn. Especially the title! My mom warns against using too much food coloring, but I think it’s ok once in awhile. I’m going to try for a rainbow, 6 layer cake with the same idea for his bday. We’ll see if I have the stamina to follow through on it.

Leave a Reply

