Independence

A few weeks ago, on Memorial Day to be exact, my dear step-mother-in-law, Leila, sent me on a quest.  Innocent enough….to locate and photograph flags.   This request turned into QUITE a project.  My Dad, who happened to be visiting, came along for the chance to escape from my two, wild children ride.  We looked everywhere, but to no avail.  Poor lighting and lack of flags kept us on the search.

Later in the day, I consulted my neighbor and longtime local resident.  She assured me that the biggest flag ever flew over one of the local car dealerships and that it would be perfect for the project.  Indeed, she wasn’t telling a lie.  That flag was humongous.  I almost got run over on El Camino Real as I got a little too close to the passing traffic and was close to having my car towed {“IMPOSTER!  Honda vehicle in a BUICK lot?!?!?”} by the car salesmen, but managed to get a few shots.

Crisis averted, I was able to make Leila’s cards and she had me use this quote along with the picture:

You have to love a nation that celebrates its independence every July 4,

not with a parade of guns, tanks, and soldiers who file by the White House in a show of strength and muscle,

but with family picnics where kids throw Frisbees,

the potato salad gets iffy,

and the flies die from happiness.  

You may think you have overeaten, but it is patriotism.

~Erma Bombeck

Our 4th included….

  • Immense gratitude to have Matt home from a week away
  • Alex learning how to ride his bike without training wheels {and yes, the helmet shown below says “DANGER”, not “DANCER”….ha, ha….creative sticker placement, Alex….}
  • Trying to find cooler temperatures and a close, fun family outing.  Went to Vasona Park in Los Gatos.  The immense amount of goose poop left me FAR from feeling relaxed.   YUCKO.   Sorry for you Vasona fans out there.  I’m just not feeling especially “Rah, rah” about that place.  Maybe some time and space will alter my feelings…  For me, the highlight was Ina Garten’s French Potato Salad.  YUM!!!
Alex cooling off in the creek at Vasona….with the geese.  Yum.
trying to keep Drew busy, on the blanket and OUT of the goose poop…extra “fun” challenge with his new mobility!
  • A wonderful dinner outside, with the table set completely by my 4 year old.  WOO HOO!  A new “skill” I will shamelessly use and exploit.  Another Ina recipe from her new cookbook was perfect for the blazing night, Greek Panzanella Salad.
  • S’mores over our fire pit in the backyard
Didn’t manage to get any pictures of many of these moments or salad delights, but did capture a few of Alex on the bike.  Probably the most important moment of independence of all!

Leave a Reply

