DPP ’11 // Lights

20111212-215100.jpg

I gasped when I saw these lights in this month’s Martha Stewart Living magazine. It took me back to childhood and my Grandma’s home. I can almost hear the tin light backings jangling around her cozy kitchen window. Sitting at her old farmhouse table, gazing out into the dark night, eating off of the blue, colonial plates.

Those glowing lights are so visceral and vivid to me….memories not lost over time. It makes me miss her, wish I’d had my camera back then to take visual reminders of all of the precious holiday tidbits that filled every nook and cranny, banister and side table. For now, I just try to close my eyes and remember. And then sometimes, without trying, it floods back. Thanks, Martha.

Leave a Reply

