Darth Vader & Mary Oliver

Due to some mega coupon fun via diapers.com and yoyo.com, I scored this Darth Vader costume for $5.41.  $4.98 of that was shipping.  Since Alex has been BEGGGGGING me for DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYS to make a Darth Vader cape,  I figured this was a bargain I couldn’t pass up, knowing I never would have gotten fabric for that much, let alone been able to sew something with Drew “helping”.

I feel like this is our world right now….

Anyhow, the costume is bought…the creative play can begin (or continue).  I keep seeing other products and find myself becoming that geeky mom that can’t resist sales on Star Wars stuff.  These PEZ dispensers were on sale at Cost Plus and I caved.  Almost bought a Darth Vader tooth brush today at Target and Matt just sent me links to Star Wars lunch boxes.  Last night, my friend and I were emailing back and forth about Pottery Barn Kids’ monogrammed Darth Vader backpacks and lunch boxes. WHO HAVE WE BECOME!??!

Sometimes, springing for something frivolous and fun is necessary {proof here}, though.  I mean…LOOK AT THIS FACE.

The chances for brotherly fighting bonding…

Full speed ahead is the name of the game here, no matter the number of children present or props found {sprinklers–evenwithout water–provide multiple ways for fun, CLEARLY}.

Today I stayed home with youngest while Matt took eldest to Santa Cruz with the high schoolers.  Drew, sans nap, while balancing Sally and a NO DOG beach, just sounded like torture.  Instead my friend Kate and I tortured ourselves with my crazy boy at the Farmer’s Market.  And then wailing through Target to procure Alex’s long and detailed list of Kindergarten school supplies.  It is all a little bit much and sometimes I just drag myself back home, put him in the high chair, pour us some water and we both sigh and get re-grounded, re-centered, & reoriented.

I am really seeing the balance be tipped between the two boys.  Alex (seen below with a dear friend from school) is becoming so much easier to manage and bond with and converse with.  Drew, at 21 months, has gone over that precipice and wowsers….it’s crazy.  No more quiet, leisurely days spent together or shopping errands easily run.  No way.

God Bless Mary Oliver and her poems, though.  Lately, each one has become a little gift and chance to ground myself.

“What are we sure of?  Happiness isn’t a town on a map, or an early arrival, or a job well done, but good work ongoing.”

~from Work, Sometimes by Mary Oliver

{fun pictures from Alex’s art show at summer camp…AMAZING teachers and totally fun projects}

“So if the heart has devoted itself to love, there is not a single inch of emptiness. Gladness gleams all the way to the grave.”

~from Honey Locust by Mary Oliver

“Patience comes to the bones before it takes root in the heart as another good idea.”

~from Patience by Mary Oliver

“Most things that are important….lack a certain neatness.”

~from The Bleeding Heart by Mary Oliver

Yes, Mary Oliver….neatness and tidyness and ease are not part of our day-to-day vocabulary these days.  But I’m wondering, as she wrote, doesn’t that make these very things, each day, important?

Leave a Reply

