dpp 2012 :: december 14th :: look for the helpers

IMG_0779

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news,

my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers.

You will always find people who are helping.”

To this day, especially in times of “disaster,”

I remember my mother’s words

and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers

so many caring people in this world.” 

-Mr Rogers

Wisdom from Mr. Rogers.  Today has felt heavy and hard and unbelievable as the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut unfolded.  As a parent of a kindergartner & a teacher by profession, my heart has flip-flopped between fear and anger and numbness today.  And as the President made clear when he addressed the nation, everyone is hugging their loved ones a little tighter tonight.  We know we should be doing it every day, not just after tragic events, but….we hug harder nonetheless.

The plaque pictured above is nailed next to our front door.  I haven’t really paid much attention to it lately, but it caught my eye today.

“May God Give Grace to this Dwelling Place.”  

Indeed.

Deep down, I believe that grace has already been given.

God continues to grant us grace upon grace, though.

And as Mr. Rogers reminds, “look for the helpers.”

There ARE so many caring people in the world.  People who are extending that same grace.

Tonight, I am praying for God to give grace to those that are grieving.

Grace to the parent without the child they sent off to school this morning, not giving their safety a second thought.

Grace to the elementary school that is now without its principal and sacrificial staff.

Grace to a town that no doubt is experiencing shock, disbelief & fear.

Grace to our nation that is gripped by a tragedy too unimaginable & immense to comprehend.

God—-grant your grace.

And help us to look for the helpers & BE the helpers.

IMG_0785

{hugging my own kindergartner a little tighter tonight, indeed}

December Photo Project 2012

Leave a Reply

