dpp 2012 :: december 19th :: leadership

12.191

Continuing in the Spirit Week festivities, today was “Dress Like Your Favorite Teacher Day.”  Alex decided to dress up like Mr. Panosian, the wonderful principal at his school.  After all that has unfolded this week, I think this day is extra special.  It’s a chance to pause and think of the role these amazing folks fill each and every day.  Teachers and principals often are arriving before the sun comes up, making copies, preparing supplies and lessons, shivering on the playground for “yard duty”.  The list of teacher duties {and privileges} is way to huge to name here, but I think most of us could think of many.

As a former teacher, Friday’s tragedy in Sandy Hook has left me with way too many imagined scenarios.  I have pictured each of the three classrooms I have spent many hours in, thinking of the places I would hide kids.  Where would I have been able to hide thirty-one ten year olds??  Would I have been able to act with the kids’ best interest at the forefront, or shoved MYSELF, shaking under my own teacher desk in the corner?  Would I have had the wherewithal to read books calmly to keep some normalacy?  It is just too horrifying to go down that road, even if it is just in my imagination.

So today, as my son’s school has a light, fun day of celebrating educators for Spirit Week, I am thinking of the immense gift of love, stability, vision and passion they each are.  Alex immediately chose to dress up at the principal—a little embarrassed to dress up like his female teacher, I guess—and maybe because it gave him an excuse to wear a tie two days in a row.  I told him to “look like a serious principal with serious business to attend to and that’s what brought about that first picture.  Joking aside, what could be more important that supporting and lifting up these leaders and educators as true heroes {and helpers… re-posting the Mr. Rogers quote I shared last week}.

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news,

my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers.

You will always find people who are helping.”

To this day, especially in times of “disaster,”

I remember my mother’s words

and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers

so many caring people in this world.” 

-Mr. Rogers

Alex&Eric-001

{{as I was typing this post for the blog, an email came in from the principal with this picture attached….honestly, am I crazy for getting a bit weepy?!?}}

December Photo Project 2012

2 thoughts on “dpp 2012 :: december 19th :: leadership

  1. I love this post, Christine. And no, you are not crazy. I am also a former educator, and I also got a bit weepy at the sight of your precious boy with his principal. Love it, friend.
    Amy (Leslie) Bangsund

Leave a Reply

