She Flies With Her Own Wings

il_570xN.460896286_44x3

Last Monday, Alex’s 6th Birthday, I was desperately trying to focus solely on him and celebrating.  It was a full day.  My dad and I accompanied the class on a trip to Pizza My Heart for a field trip.  It was a BLAST.  Seriously….free pizza and t-shirts?  On your birthday??? I told the host that he was throwing my kid a free pizza party for his birthday.  Let’s bask in some kindergarten cuteness for a moment…..

IMG_5784

IMG_5785

IMG_5786

IMG_5788

IMG_5789

IMG_5790

IMG_3166

IMG_5793

IMG_5830

IMG_5892

IMG_5897

IMG_5924

IMG_5931

Later that afternoon, when Dad and I were trying to recuperate, I was zoning out on Facebook and saw that Katie Daisy, one of my favorite artists, had two new prints out.  The one above made me gasp.  We were on the brink of this week that has been—-a week filled with opening the floodgates and telling folks about things we have held close for a long while.  I was a bundle of nerves and fears.  I had envisioned telling people and gone down every path in my mind of how folks would react.  Enter Katie Daisy’s print, pictured above, and the message, “She Flies With Her Own Wings”.  And it was the OREGON.  STATE.  MOTTO.  Good ‘ol Oregon.  The rebel state.  That land “way out west” filled with adventurers.  Many marred by the scars of long wagon train journeys filled with hopes, dreams and banking on promises of schemey, slimy businessmen no doubt living in the lap of luxury back in the East.  {can you hear the echos of a 4th grade teacher??  Gold Rush can just as easily translate to the Oregon Trail}  This motto was meant to remind people of Oregon’s strength, freedom and independence.  And on Monday….and throughout the week, I have felt almost anything BUT strength, freedom and independence.

I am choosing to trust in the power of that visual image, though.  The monarch.  It is famous for its migration.  We often talked of its symbolism when teaching about Day of the Dead each year.  The monarch would arrive right as the holidays unfolded.  Rebirth and new life even found in the midst of death.  I love this visual reminder and think I might just be purchasing this for many lovely ladies in my life.  The message is inspiring and a reminder that migration and rebirth is part of the cycle.  It is not easy.  But it can be life-giving.  And in those moments where I actually AM experiencing the grace of freedom, independence and strength, it seems to be clear that they can only be gained through the very opposite—– dependence, moments of weakness and vulnerability.

il_570xN.460896286_44x3

{please visit Katie’s etsy shop, the wheatfield, to find this beautiful print and tons of others you won’t be able to pass up!}

9 thoughts on “She Flies With Her Own Wings

  1. I always enjoy your thoughtfulness and substance. You have the ability to take everyday ordinary and make it spectacular. Alex and Drew are blessed to have you as their mom,
    Marci

  2. We made our own Oregon Trail journey from Sunnyvale to Corvallis on July 4th weekend of 1993. I became a member of Sunnyvale Pres. soon after my husband and I arrived from England in 1981. I had been a Methodist in the UK, but things were so different in California in any case. I had to leave our four children back in England. The three eldest were in University and the 16 year old said she would not come to ” that plastic throw away society!” We made provision for her and brought her out after a few months for a visit and they all came out for the summer. A long story not for going into here.

    I am a member of First Pres. Corvallis and looking forward to meeting you. If you have any questions you think I could help with please do email me. I check my mail frequently. I am a retired RN and was a volunteer Chaplain until recently.

    Wishing you courage and strength for the road ahead. God Bless.

    Janet.

    1. Janet,
      What a sweet email!!! Here I am doing the same thing 20 years later! 🙂 So fun. Can’t wait to meet you and thanks for taking the time to share part of your story here.

  3. I’m so glad the two of you will meet! Both such special people I’ve had the privilege to know at Sunnyvale Pres! I just learned that Janet is in Corvallis from a new mutual friend who will be my roommate on a Pilgrimage. Now I’m sad to see Christine and her special family moving away as well. It helps to know you’ll be welcomed by Janet as well as one lucky congregation!! (Also love the butterfly message since I was born in Oregon 70 years ago tomorrow! ) Love to you and your family, Miriam

    1. 1 Timothy 4:4-8
      New International Version (NIV)
      4 For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, 5 because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer.

      6 If you point these things out to the brothers and sisters,[a] you will be a good minister of Christ Jesus, nourished on the truths of the faith and of the good teaching that you have followed. 7 Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly. 8 For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.

      1. Not sure how I cut and pasted that 1 Timothy verse except I’m preparing for Sunday School and its the text for tomorrow…..ha! Preparing at the Eleventh Hour…almost literally :)!

    2. Miriam….this is so sweet!!!! Thank you for commenting. I look forward to meeting Janet and simultaneously, will miss see your smiling sweet face. Lots of love on your 70th tomorrow!!!!!! WOOOO HOO!!! My mom just turned 70 on the 16th! We had a blast!

  4. Found your blog. Our venture from Sunnyvale to Corvallis happened in 1980 when our first was a year old. I grew up in Sacramento.. Reading your blog brought back my feelings of the time about leaving CA. Lots of butterflies in my stomach before we packed up. It turned out to be a very good move. Now a member of First Pres. Look forward to your family’s arrival. Be glad to answer any questions for you.
    Jan Barton

Leave a Reply

