Need a Little Good, ‘Ol Fashioned Holy Spirit Revival…

IMG_5424.JPG (2)

A little confession time…..I’m drowning, folks.  Drowning.  Some things in life are necessary for survival.  Basic needs.  Water.  Clothing.  Shelter.  Food.  And I would beg to add—–sleep.

If you are friends with me on Facebook or the receiver of my email missives or texts, you know that our youngest son’s sleep has hit a rough jag over the last six week.  Every so often we will have a miraculous night when he goes to bed at 8pm and doesn’t get up until 6am.  And that is truly a miracle.  A “glory hallelujah” moment.  Sadly, since my sleep has been interrupted so regularly, even on one of these miracle nights, my body still wakes up at 2:30am, 4:00am and 5:30am.  Just for “FUN”. {the pictures found throughout this post are proof of my early risings….lots of amazing sunrises observed!}

IMG_5073

Transitions are not easy on anyone and try and we might, littles tend to have a lot of adjustments to make without a lot of say in it all and/or developmental ability to understand.  One thing our youngest did comprehend, however, was that he has the physical agility to escape the confines of the pack-n-play and his crib.  And so the fun began.  FREEDOM!  Freedom at 2am! Boundaries released at 4:30am!  No Mom hovering, lying in wait to halt middle of the night exploring and escapades!

IMG_5004

And while we were letting go of our childish ways, why not attempt to “potty train” ourselves too?!?  And maybe, decide that using words isn’t sufficient??  How about high pitched squealing and screaming??  Best of all….naps????  Who needs NAPS?!?  So from one day to the next, we went from 2-3 hour naps to NOTHING.  Quiet time?  Well, let’s just say mister mister won’t go for it.  Screaming, shrill crying, not finding comfort even from having one of us lay  down with him.

IMG_5109

There is no reprieve.  As a parent, it is our job to nurture and create these boundaries and confines for our kids.  To help them feel cared for and loved.  Having any resolve to hold firm, however, seems impossible due to lack of sleep.  How is SLEEP not on the basic needs list???  Without it, I am a shell of myself.  Angry.  Quick to snap.  Bitter.  Moving about my day in a fog.

IMG_4975

In the midst of this excitement, I got hired to write curriculum for the company that provides resources for Presbyterian Camps and Conferences.  I am so excited for this opportunity…to dabble in my love for writing and merge that with my passion for students and delving into their spiritual development.  As part of this endeavor, I get to attend a writing conference in Nashville next week.  Between our move, school starting up and NOT SLEEPING, though, there has been no opportunity to do all the prep work.   And leaving the littles, while in good hands, requires some time to write up all the details of their day to day lives and schedules, not to mention, meal planning, food shopping and packing my own things.

So, as I embark to new territory next week—-Nashville, a writing conference and a new (very part time!) job, I ask for your prayers.  I need to see a light at the end of the tunnel.  Our curriculum focuses on the Holy Spirit.   God with us.  Empowering us.  Showing us how to “live by” this Spirit, producing good fruit.  To allow the Spirit to bring unity and create true community.  To be filled ourselves with a spirit of power, love and self-disciple, not timidity or fear.  To embody the way of peace and forgiveness.  I am excited to immerse myself in these stories, truths and themes because selfishly, I need a good, ‘ol fashioned Holy Spirit revival myself.  As I write and prepare curriculum for 4th-6th graders, I will be praying for these same truths for them and yet, I keep finding that we must know and experience it ourselves for it to be authentic and meaningful for others.

IMG_5006

Time to end the most narcissistic post ever written and if you are still with me, you get a medal.  I am not above begging for your prayers, your positive mojo and advice.  Truly that is what I have been clinging to already.  And since I need to be working with these passages, I’m figuring, even in my own exhaustion, I can still focus on these scriptures.  I am praying inspiration and ideas still come through the simple obedience of sitting with these words, however sleep-deprived I might be.  I am reprinting a few of the scriptures below in case you need a little Holy Spirit Revival yourself.

IMG_7832

Trying to remind MYSELF, as I reminded my oldest yesterday, that indeed,

WE CAN DO HARD THINGS.

{sidenote:  after seeing this sign yesterday, he asked me, “Mommy, why do you have a bunch of sight words written up on the table for breakfast?!?”  Ha ha}

*********************

For this reason I remind you to rekindle the gift of God that is within you through the laying on of my hands; for God did not give us a spirit of cowardice, but rather a spirit of power and of love and of self-discipline. Hold to the standard of sound teaching that you have heard from me, in the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. Guard the good treasure entrusted to you, with the help of the Holy Spirit living in us.

~2 Timothy 1: 6-7, 13-14

I therefore, the prisoner in the Lord, beg you to lead a life worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, making every effort to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to the one hope of your calling,one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father of all, who is above all and through all and in all.

~Ephesians 4:1-6

 When it was evening on that day, the first day of the week, and the doors of the house where the disciples had met were locked for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood among them and said, ‘Peace be with you.’ After he said this, he showed them his hands and his side. Then the disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord. Jesus said to them again, ‘Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you.’When he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, ‘Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.’

~John 20:19-23

Leave a Reply

