So Far…

IMG_2251

Like many of you, no doubt, summer feels like a hot bed of opportunity.  Sometimes fall feels that way too.  School starting.  New clothes.  New backpacks.  New school supplies.  Or Winter?  It’s the new year.  Resolutions are made.  We can begin a new chapter.  Spring?  Everything comes back to life after hibernating.  Flowers pop through the ground.  In the classroom, it is non-failingly the time when everyone seems to kick into gear and really grow in their learning, cemented as a community.

But summer?  I have visions of relaxing in a hammock.  Roasting marshmallows.  Taking hikes.  Reading books.  Taking family trips and adventures.  Rejuvenating.

And while many of those things HAVE happened, it has also felt quite different this year.  Almost like holding onto a strong, metal support for dear life as a hurricane raged around me.  There have been many teacher trainings and days devoted to my new job come September.  Camps and preschool for the boys.  Two trips for us as a family.  Lots of visiting friends and family.  It has all been {{{good}}}, but that island living, relaxed and mellow vibe I envision each June?!  Not so much.

There have been some hard “Come to Jesus” moments lately as expectation has met reality head on—-with reality taking the cake.  Gulping down what I envisioned my life to look like, and realizing that things are actually different.  Mostly in the area of parenting.  For years, as a teacher, I have lived in judgement of parents, students and circumstances only to find myself becoming THAT parent, in charge of THAT kid. Humility can be a hard pill to swallow.

When I think of the summer of 2010, I remember last weeks in our job at summer camp.  I was waddling around 8 months pregnant, waiting on the baby to come and a move to be made a few months later.  In 2013 we were packing, saying goodbyes, road-tripping north and starting a new adventure.  In 2003 I was newly engaged, enjoying 3 weeks in Europe, planning a wedding, on cloud 9.  Summers all have different memories attached.  And this one?  Well, some days I want to reframe it.  Rename it.  Recreate it into something a little more perfect.  In reality, it has been a tougher nut to crack.  I wish I could say I was entering a new school year, relaxed as if from a spa treatment, ready for whatever lies ahead.  Nope.  It’s more of a “hanging on for dear life”, diving into the next adventure.

One thing that remains, however, is my choice on how to look at the days and weeks to come.  I will be in a new school district come September.  Even though the needs of our students—on paper—are daunting, I see so much commitment, joy and determination in the companions that share classrooms around me.  There is a strong belief that every child can be educated, but more than that….inspired.  I can, and DO, look at my soon-to-be students’ reading scores, and get nervous, filled with fear that I won’t be able to help them grow and learn.  But, truly?  It comes down to what, in my core, I believe to be possible.  A paradigm shift to be had in my heart.  Some days this summer, my heart has felt rather hopeless or on an unpredictable, out-of-control roller coaster.  I am guessing that it comes down to re-framing things, not with Pollyanna, unrealistic memory-recreating.  Rather, with an open heart, accepting the days behind and ahead, believing that growth and inspiration waits to be found.  And when I look back at the pictures and images below, I see the inspiration that can be found, the growth & adventures  that were had and find myself grateful for the summer of 2014.

IMG_0595

IMG_0612

photo

IMG_1479

IMG_1956

IMG_1969

IMG_1973

IMG_1994

IMG_1998

IMG_2055

IMG_0840

IMG_0868

IMG_0886

IMG_0890

IMG_0920

IMG_0937

IMG_0943

IMG_0973

IMG_0993

IMG_1011

IMG_1040

IMG_1042

IMG_1045

IMG_1064

IMG_1121

IMG_1130

IMG_1136

IMG_1198

IMG_1211

IMG_1275

IMG_1299

IMG_1339

IMG_1408

IMG_1419

IMG_1424

IMG_0702

IMG_0720

IMG_0738

IMG_0762

IMG_0771

IMG_0774

IMG_0781

IMG_0803

IMG_0832

IMG_0835

IMG_0863

IMG_1515

IMG_1526

IMG_1551

IMG_1553

IMG_1609

IMG_1620

IMG_1629

IMG_1665

IMG_1669

IMG_1682

IMG_1825

IMG_1850

IMG_1852

 

IMG_1876

IMG_1919

IMG_1935

IMG_1016

IMG_1025

IMG_1077

IMG_1108

IMG_1327

IMG_2130

IMG_2161-001

IMG_2189-001

IMG_2197

IMG_2204

IMG_2219-001

IMG_2224-001

IMG_2227

IMG_2337

 

IMG_2303

 

IMG_2270

 

IMG_2259

 

 

IMG_1202

 

We watched the Ted Talk video found below at my teacher training today and it really says it all…the Myth of Average by Todd Rose.  Challenging.  Inspiring.  Paradigm Shifter for sure.  Worth each of the 18 minutes to watch.  And be sure to read Shauna Niequist’s latest post about her own paradigm shift (click here).  As she says:

I want to shift the math. I want to be deeply, wholly responsible for myself, my little family, my very close tribe. And I want to stop being, in the words of my favorite writer Anne Lamott, “the flight attendant for the planet.” I want to be entirely less responsible for a whole bunch of people and expectations and roles, and way more deeply, richly connected to a tiny circle of people who really do need me, in appropriate ways.

4 thoughts on “So Far…

  1. Hey there!

    LOVE the pics! WOW! 🙂

    Did YOU make up those songs about writing?!? If so, get your name on those, girl and sell them! 🙂 Awesome!

    Love the Seattle pics and loved the Baker Beach with Marlene… sad I missed out on that!

    I want to watch that TED talk… maybe this evening.

    Love and miss you!

    Val

  2. Your writing just keeps getting better and better – you are such an inspiration! Thank you for sharing a slice of yourself here.

Leave a Reply

