Dpp 2014 :: December 4th :: Gratitude

image

Today we wrapped up some thank you notes in Room 15.  Our local Rotary Club gifted new personal dictionaries to each 3rd grader and the excitement was palpable.  I decided to take pictures of the kids with the dictionaries and this image above was my favorite.  Notice that little bunny in the middle with the dictionary upside down?! On purpose and planned and a testimony to this class in a nutshell.

This group of students is healing me with their hearts, their humor and their resiliency.  I find myself less forgiving with my own boys some days after coming home from this bunch.  Many are truly holding so much each day.  Hard stuff.  Instability.  Difficult situations at home.  Lack of resources.  They seem to pull together though, and continually surprise me.

They aren’t perfect by any means and life isn’t a virtual bed of educational roses but I feel immense gratitude for them.  As they crafted their thank you notes today,  I began thinking about what I’d write in a note to each of them.  It is a true gift to experience these moments of “rightness” while at the same time being “at work”.  Fredrick Buechner says, “The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”  Even though some days are hard, there is gladness and hunger meeting.  And for that….I am so grateful.

dpp2014

Leave a Reply

